Track Running and Breakfasts of Unusual Size

Since joining the local running club I’ve made it my mission to show up for their track practice every Tuesday night (I’ve done 3 or 4 so far). Speed work and I have a love/hate relationship. I hate to run it, but enjoy it immensely once it’s over.

The one hitch with track practice is the time commitment. I go straight to practice after work, I warm up, run the workout, chatter with friends afterwards, and then walk the 30-odd blocks back to my house, where invariably I have nothing to eat, and then must locate enough energy to walk to the store, decide what to eat and then ingest it. Frankly, it takes a lot of time. Last night I didn’t get home until 8:30 – way past my traditional dinnertime. I had run somewhere around 7.5 or 8 miles and knew I needed SOMETHING in my belly. Something turned out to be sliced watermelon, water, tea, a handful of almonds, and spoonful of almond butter. Balanced? Not so much. But I was too tired to care.

This morning it was beautifully blue outside so I couldn’t pass on a 5-miler before work. Track and the pre-work run on an empty stomach could only mean one thing: I needed to eat a Breakfast of Unusual Size (B.o.U.S)

So, today I’ve eaten: A handful of almonds on the way to work. Then I got the day started right with a salad, but not just any salad. A Super Breakfast Salad topped with watermelon, filberts, nearly a third of a pound of sliced turkey, drizzled with walnut oil, accented with mustard and pepper and accompanied by dried apples, a handful of almonds, another handful of filberts, 2 glasses of water and a cup of coffee. Later I polished off the remaining turkey and ate about a cup of sliced watermelon.

Forget Wheaties, this is the breakfast of champions

Update: It’s now 12:15 and that can only mean one thing: Lunch!

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in breakfast, food, health, paleo diet, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Track Running and Breakfasts of Unusual Size

  1. readysetchange says:

    Now that’s a breakfast!

  2. pinkcowgirl says:

    B.o.U.S. Awesome. That amuses me greatly.

  3. Heather D. says:

    Just stumbled upon your blog : )
    When it’s nice out, it always encourages me to go and run!
    Sounds like a delicious salad…and turkey, mmm!

  4. smchurchi says:

    I know what you mean about track workouts: when I’m done I love them. Great breakfast! I’m on my way to the store and I think I’m load up on salad fixings!

    Sandy

  5. Laura says:

    Mmm, that breakfast salad sounds delicious! Fresh and crisp and perfect for summer. I’ll have to try it…

Leave a Reply

