Holiday Run Challenge: Day #8

It is sooooo chilly in Portland these days! I kind of love it, but I really really hate that I tried to go running this morning without gloves. Total fail on my part. I vetoed the run and decided to make coffee instead. It was that cold.

When I got home tonight, the conditions were very similar to this morning. Dark. Cold. Cold. Dark. Can you believe that we have another 3 weeks of even more darkness before things start to get better. Really looking forward to the Winter Solstice!

Tonight I ran downtown around the bridges. Hardly anyone was out and about. I was happy to get the run done. This weekend I have much to look forward to. I’m going to race a 10k with my neighbor. And I’m going to do laundry. I promise.

Day #8: 7.75 miles in 64 minutes

Terrain: Bridges and asphalt

Thoughts: Good socks are a must. I recommend SmartWool and Swiftwick

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in health, portland, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Holiday Run Challenge: Day #8

  1. Kate says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your break-up — but so happy you’re back writing! This is my absolute favorite blog and it was so great to have it pop up again. Good luck with the streak! :)

    • heatherdaniel says:

      Kate, Thanks for the great encouragement. Much appreciated. The streak is healthy and strong. I hope to keep it going.

  2. Tracy says:

    IIIII LOOOOVE THIIIISS!

    • heatherdaniel says:

      Thanks, Tracy! And thanks for watching Abby while I went for my run. Totally looking forward to tomorrow’s race. It’s going to be great.

  3. Andrea says:

    those are the only two types of socks I run in! I’ve worn smartwool forever, and just started wearing swiftwick (almost exclusively for racing) this fall!

    • heatherdaniel says:

      Andrea, I hadn’t considered swiftwick until recently, but i’m hooked. They keep my feet nice and dry. They are bit thicker than I’m used to, but I like ‘em. Do you buy them at a store or online? Any good deals out there?

Leave a Reply

