Summer Plans

My time at Tostan and my life in Senegal is quickly coming to a close.

I would be sad but before I finish my internship I have to write a monster of a report to UNICEF. That is making me more grumpy than sad.

I would be very grumpy but the thought of what I will be doing in two weeks puts a smile on my face.

Because in two weeks I’m going to Timbuktu.

Clare, one of the volunteers, and I are going on a two week adventure vacation to Mali. We will be traveling overland on the way there, which will take about 2-3 days. Once we reach the capital of Mali-Bamako, we’ll head east to Djenne to see the largest and most interesting mosque in west africa, after that we’ll somehow find a ride to Timbuktu where we hope to go on a camel ride in the Sahara, from there we’ll take a boat down the Niger river to Mopti and complete a five day trek on foot in the Dogon country of East Mali. It is sure to be hot and awesome. I can’t wait!!

Tomorrow Clare and I are going to the Mali embassy to get our visas.

I can’t believe that in a few weeks I’ll be able to say I’ve been to Timbuktu and back.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in west africa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

