20 miles today.

A good marathon training program is defined by one long run a week. Usually a Saturday or a Sunday. They begin early in the training program at about 7 miles (depending on experience and fitness ) and gradually climb up to 20 miles and beyond. Because of the road trip to Portland my marathon program derailed. Big time.

After 3 weekends without a long run, I attempted to get my training back on track this week. Tuesday was awful. Wednesday good. Thursday mediocre and laced with snot rockets. Friday off, and Saturday is the long run. I wasn’t hoping for anything stellar. I thought, You know, I just need to get the miles under my belt and be done.

I thought ahead and bought a variety of Gu packets for refueling. If you’ve never had it, it’s a little bit like a cross between a liquid Cliff bar and cake frosting. I would even consider frosting a cupcake with the stuff and market it as a GuCake. I also made sure my favorite socks and running shorts were clean and ready to go. The running gods were on my side. I had a hella-excellent run. I did 20 miles at a consistent 8:45/mile pace.

While 20 miles isn’t the 26 miles 385 yards that makes a marathon, I have more confidence as I head into my next week of training.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in life, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 20 miles today.

  1. smchurchi says:

    Congratulations on your excellent 20 miler today! For which marathon are you currently training? I had planned to running Columbus (which occurred today) but due to an injury, couldn’t make it. Not being one to throw in the towel, I promptly registered for the Richmond Marathon in Virginia on November 10.

    I just love your writers voice! So glad I stumbled upon your blog.

    Sandy

Leave a Reply

