cupcake attack

cupcake challenge

 

 

THE CUPCAKE COOK-OFF

Today I decided to channel my nervous energy into baking – specifically cupcakes. Because who doesn’t like a cupcake?

I decided on a mellow lemon cupcake and found a great recipe that made 30 cupcakes – far more than I could ever eat even on a good day. So I halved the recipe. However, lemon zest tends to have a subtle lemon flavor and doesn’t pack as much lemony taste as lemon extract or lemon juice. As a result, I used at least 2tsp. of lemon zest and could have probably added a little juice as well. Here’s the recipe. The sour cream adds moisture to the lil’ cakes and keeps them from being to dry and crumbly- a huge cupcake no-no.

Delicious Lemon Cupcakes

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks/8 oz/226g) butter, softened
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
2 tsp. vanilla extract
3 eggs
2 (8-ounce) cartons dairy sour cream
2 teaspoon finely shredded lemon peel

fresh from the ovenYummmy. Naked lemon cupcakes.

For the frosting I couldn’t decide between lemon frosting and chocolate frosting so I used a basic buttercream frosting and then added cocoa powder to half and lemon zest, lemon extract and lemon juice to the other. Then I decorated . . .

final cupcakes

Who wants to come over and eat them?

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in food, life, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to cupcake attack

  1. smchurchi says:

    Oooh! They look scrumptious! I bake when I’m nervous or upset, too.

    Great post…
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

