My breakfast of Champions.

Today is the Olymipic Marathon Trials in New York. Their efforts truly seem superhuman and make my marathon training look slothful.

However today is Saturday and Saturday = long run!

My pre-run ritual goes something like this:

5:30 Wake up and realize I have 15 minutes more to sleep

5:45 Alarm goes off . Press snooze, so I can lay in bed five more minutes

6:00 Get out of bed, stumble to coffee pot, make delicious dark energy infusion.

6:15: Breakfast. Bowl of Malt o’ Meal with maple syrup and handful of raisins, glass of water, cup of coffee.

Malt o’ Meal is THE perfect pre-run breakfast. It’s a good shot of carbs, easy on the stomach, quick to make and pretty much 1/2 digested already. It’s gooey and goes through the intestines quickly; I am sure to be unburdened by a brick of food by the time I’m ready to leave.

7:30 Out the door and on my way.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in breakfast, food, life, running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My breakfast of Champions.

  1. johntalaga says:

    Let’s hope your run goes better than the New York one…

  2. heatherdaniel says:

    I just heard about Shay, the guy who collapsed and died 5 1/2 miles into the race. So weird and strange.

Leave a Reply

