Perfect Pre-Marathon Breakfast

I am a firm believer in the power of Malt-o-Meal.

So tomorrow morning I am going to do the same thing I’ve done for just about every 20+mile training run. I’m going to make the perfect pre-marathon breakfast

 Heather’s Pre-Run Fuel

1-2 cups strong coffee. (I know, coffee is supposed to be a diuretic, but the small caffeine buzz does wonders.)

2 serving helping of Malt-O-Meal made with slightly more water than the recipe calls for.

Place steaming Malt-o-Meal in bowl, slather in healthy amounts of maple syrup, throw in some raisins –  and if you’re really crazy-  a few walnuts.

Chase with a large glass of water and mental pep talk.

IMPORTANT: It is very wise to eat this at least 90 minutes before running so you can have time to digest most of it and can avoid early pitstops during the race or the long run.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in breakfast, food, life, recipes, running. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Perfect Pre-Marathon Breakfast

  1. Emily says:

    Ma tablette! Happy happy marathon! Bon courage. Don’t forget to post pictures. Hopefully you will have some pics that rival those from Paris. 🙂

  2. johntalaga says:

    Kill it!

  3. Ben Schorr says:

    Great plan, Heather. I tell my marathon training group that “Rule #3 is ‘Never do anything for the first time on race day!” and that would certainly extend to food. Sounds like you’ve got it just right. 🙂

    Hope you had a great race! A couple of my friends did CIM this year, I had to pass because I’m doing Honolulu next week.

    Best wishes and aloha,

    -B-

  4. stvmllr says:

    I just wanna hear about the amazing nap you probably took after the race. That’s right up my alley.

  5. Pingback: Cascades 1/2 Marathon Race Report « Heather Daniel: a blog

  6. Alex Villalobos says:

    I usually go with 2 small 8.5 ounce or a 16 ounce muscle milk along with 2 bananas. I’ll also large coffee 15-30 minutes before a race it has so far been good for me. Also dont forget water

Leave a Reply

