I even surprised myself

Today I finally succeeded in waking up at 5:00 AM to squeeze in a 5 mile run before work. It could have even been longer if I didn’t have to schedule in time to use a hair straightener and find something clean to wear. I am so proud. I even emailed my friends about it.

The secret lies in repeating over and over -out loud – “I will get up when the alarm clock goes off. I will put on my shoes. I will put on my shirt. I will put in my contacts and I will open up the door to my apartment.” That combined with placing the alarm clock on the other side of the room next to my pile of running gear ready to go seems to do the trick.

I can only hope to repeat this miracle tomorrow morning.

Stay tuned for updates.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in clothes, life, portland, running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I even surprised myself

  1. smchurchi says:

    Great job, Heather! Even though it’s initially difficult to get up so early, I always am glad I did.

    Here’s to early morning runs! Cheers!
    Sandy

  2. Rachel says:

    Good for you! You’re a rock star.

Leave a Reply

