Only in Portland.

I go to Whole Foods on most lunch breaks when it’s too rainy to run or I’ve forgotten my socks. Again. Last Wednesday was just such a day and only the Whole Foods Soup Bar would do.

I decided on a cup of organic wild rice and turkey and sat down on the curvy lunch counter designed for bunches of complete strangers to eat in relatively close quarters. The soup was good. I pulled out my copy of West with the Night and started to read.

That’s how I met Mr. Naturopathic Medicine and that’s how I eventually had dinner with him last night. Mr. Naturopathic Medicine Man, let’s call him Tom for short, is the type of person you can really only find in Portland. Maybe San Fransisco. Maybe.

You see, I spent 80 to 85% of the evening discussing food with Mr. Natreopathic Medicine Man, not because I love food (and I do love food) but because of the seeming never-ending list of foods that Mr. Natreopath chooses not to eat.

Tom Does Not Eat:

Gluten – including;

Wheat

Barley

Corn

Couscous

Rice Bread (because there are too many ingredients)

Any dairy products: (well, he’s got me there – I can’t condone dairy either)

Any soy products (no soy yogurt, soy ice cream, tofuti cuties, or tofu curries)

Any refined sugars (which means no candy, no licorice or gummy bears or Swedish fish or pudding or ginger snaps)

Molasses (which means no ginger snaps)

Chocolate

Coffee (which means no ginger snaps and coffee snacks)

Yet, despite all these no-no foods he seemed normal. Was it because he’s amazingly well-adjusted and has the ability to mock himself and his self-restricted paleolithic diet? Or rather was it simply because I’ve adjusted to the dietary weirdness that is everywhere in Portland?

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in food, life, lunch break, portland, work. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Only in Portland.

  1. mywoodenrobot says:

    Mr. Natreopathic Medicine Man has an interesting diet. But I see my share of weird diets after working in a restaurant in L.A. except these people just get caught up in the latest dietary trends. It looks like Tom is creating his own…

  2. grace says:

    i could never date a man who chooses not to eat carbs, simple or complex.

  3. heatherdaniel says:

    Well, he eats carbs just not gluten-based carbs. He eats teff, buckwheat and quinoa, etc….all the obscure, hard-to-find carbs.

  4. Shannon says:

    Dare I ask, but where the hell did you go for dinner that night anyway?

    A life without dairy products is a sad one. You KNOW this, Heather!

  5. heatherdaniel says:

    We went to Lauro’s Kitchen. A Mediterranean restaurant in SE Portland. It was delicious!

  6. Clover says:

    Interesting.. My cousin’s wife was vegan for years and then she developed an allergy to soy products. It took them a long time to figure out why she was so fatigued all the time.

    What is the food pyramid you have here? Is that Mr. Naturopathic’s dietary guide?

    This made me think of the French food pyramid, which is different from ours, then I remembered that you speak French so maybe you are familiar with it. At the bottom are fluids (water), then vegetables & fruits, and on top of that come grains, then dairy & meat (same level), and at the top are fats & sweets (same level). Here’s part of what it says:

    HUILES ET MATIÈRES GRASSES :en petites quantités
    SUCRE ET SUCRERIES :avec plaisir mais modération
    PRODUITS À BASE DE CÉRÉALES ET POMMES DE TERRE : de l’énergie à bon compte
    FRUITS ET LÉGUMES : en abondance
    BOISSONS : aussi souvent que possible

    I’ll avoid sending a hyperlink here cuz WordPress doesn’t like them, but you can find it easily if you google Nutri-pyramide.

    Thanks for reading my blog. I haven’t been adding to it too much lately. Be careful running on ice!

Leave a Reply

