Weekend in Review.

This weekend whooshed by far too quickly for my tastes.

Highlights from the Weekend

Dinner at Serrato’s in NW Portand : Sadly, their website is no where near as appetizing as their pork loin. I would go back again if for no other reason than to sit at the bar and hang with the bartender whose pours are generous and yummy.

Saturday: Sunny! In February?

Sunday AM: Sampled some buckwheat for breakfast. Not bad. But not Malt-o-Meal.

Sunday PM: 20 mile run. Today’s long run was not stellar. It wasn’t even good. But I did it. After a steady steam of great feeling workouts, today felt blah. My legs weren’t springy. My stride seemed awkward. Even all the blue sky and bird chirping didn’t seem to help. But I did run. I slowed my pace and didn’t beat myself up for shuffling. Hey, I’m not trying to win a marathon, I just want to do the best I can. And today’s best just happened to resemble a very slow, very ungraceful trot.

On today’s run I tested a new long run fuel source. The Hammer Gel

It’s another version of Power Gel or GU except more viscous and a little easier to swallow. I tried Espresso and Raspberry flavors, as these, according to the girl working at the local run shop, are supposed to be the most popular. The Espresso Hammer Gel was OK. I give it a general thumbs up. It’s easier to swallow than GU and it’s not quite as sweet. Both good things. The 50mg of caffeine isn’t such a bad kick in the running shorts either.

The Raspberry Hammer Gel is bad. Really bad. I can only compare it to a Clif Shot in its horribleness. I kind of wanted to spit it out once it was in my mouth, but also didn’t want to waste the spit or the $1.25 I spent on its maltodextrin nastiness. So down the hatch it went with a few swigs of water and a grimace. I just don’t see the point of punishing yourself in the middle of a workout designed to be punishing with ill tasting gels. Maybe your tastebuds can have a good time even if your legs aren’t.

The run ended and I was happy to be back at home where I could more or less collapse in a muddy heap while taking a hot shower.

Miles this week: Approx. 50

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in food, marathon, portland, running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend in Review.

  1. Cheryl says:

    I struggle with the gel/GU’s too. I’m running my first marathon this weekend and after all my training, all the gel trials the one that I really like is Carb-Boom, it tastes like real fruit, well it is real fruit, mostly. My favorite is Strawberry Kiwi then Apple Cinnamon, the consistency is not so thick, I can actually take the whole package and say “Yum”. If you can’t find them in your area, I’ll mail you some.

  2. heatherdaniel says:

    Let me know how your first marathon goes. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  3. smchurchi says:

    Thanks for the tip on the Hammer Gel. I always us Gu, Chocolate Outrage. Maybe I’ll give the Hammer Gel a try, but definitely not the raspberry!

    You’re really running well these days, Heather. Try not to lash yourself for a less than springy 20 miler. Chalk it up to an off day. Plus, you ran 50 miles this week and THAT’S A LOT OF RUNNING!

    You’re my running hero! GO HEATHER!
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

