Marathon Training: Long Run

I ran 22 miles yesterday morning. And it went so much better than last week’s bonk-session.

I tried to keep an accurate account of time and mileage, but my cell phone went off in the middle of mile 18. I had to take the call and the resulting rest time makes it difficult to calculate. Also. I’m kind of guessing on mileage. I know that I went to mile post 9 before I turning back and I know that there’s another 4 or 5 miles between mile post 1 and where I begin my run… oh how much easier this would all be if only I had a Garmin Forerunner 305.

I managed to over-fuel myself for the run. I wasn’t stuffed, but I was a little fuller than I like to be. It took over an hour and a half before I felt like my body even toyed with the idea of using reserve fuel sources… note to self. Do not eat too much! It so easy to do. You’d think with all these extra miles I wouldn’t be able to eat enough to keep me going, but my metabolism seems to get more and more efficient with the running, creating an ever present risk of piling on pounds.

Breakdown of the run:

Miles: Approx. 22

Food Consumed: 1 Chocolate Outrage GU, 1 HoneyStinger (look for a review coming soon)

Top Five Things About the Run:

1. Dancing to “You Can Do It” by Ice Cube before heading out.

Best lyric: “Life ain’t a track meet. It’s a marathon”

2. Starting the run at 8 AM

3. Wearing shorts – yay spring!

4. Averaging 8:15 mile splits – yay stop watches!

5. Peeing behind a tree without someone seeing me. I shouldn’t consider this such a notable event, but peeing in the woods undetected is so much harder than it seems. Normally when nature calls, someone, usually lots of cute lycra-clad men, will run past me and get a glimpse of me trying not to show them what I’m doing, but knowing full well that they know. It’s hard to maintain any dignity when you’re squatting behind fern.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in Boston Marathon, breakfast, marathon, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marathon Training: Long Run

  1. johnking82 says:

    I finally broke down and got a Garmin 205 (cheaper than a 305) last week off ebay. It is amazing. I used to have to go online and map my runs and I never really knew what pace I was running….buy one they help tremendously!

Leave a Reply

