The Non-Traditional Breakfast of Champions.

The Paleo-eating experiment is going well and I’m becoming a modern, office-dwelling cavewoman – at least foodwise. I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t follow it strictly. Sometimes the sly french fry and Friday donut sneak into my routine, but overall the LOV-LOP-VFPF (Lots of Veggies, Lots of Protein, Very Few Processed Foods) thing works well.

Who would have guessed that I feel better when I eat less crap!

Two aspects of Paleo eating I haven’t been able to master are breakfast and my intense desire for hot cereal, but recently I’ve found a winner that is rocking my nutritional world.

Squash “oatmeal.” What? Is that weird? Yes, it is an unlikely breakfast friend, but before you go off and eat some instant oatmeal or a granola bar, hear me out.

Paleo-Butternut Squash Breakfast

1 package of frozen butternut squash

1 TBS maple syrup

small handful of raisins

Ok. So here’s the deal. Go on your run before work. Get nice and cold and hungry. Come back and get a package of frozen butternut squash from the freezer (available for 87 cents at my local grocery store) and cook over low heat for 15 minutes. When it is completely defrosted start whisking the squash. Break up the pieces with a spoon and whisk some more. Turn up the heat so it starts to bubble. The package says clearly “Do not overcook” but I think it improves the quality and the taste to get it bubbling away on the stove for a few minutes while you whisk. It should turn quite creamy in texture after a bit.

Remove squash from heat. Pour into a bowl. Add maple syrup, raisins and top with walnuts. It’s pretty much exactly the same texture as my good old friend Malt-O-Meal but with more nutrients and an outstanding orange color. Squash-tastic!

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in breakfast, food, paleo diet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Non-Traditional Breakfast of Champions.

  1. Mike V says:

    Ahh, nothing like starting the workd day with the smell of turkey breast and pulverized squash sitting on the desk next to me.

  2. heatherdaniel says:

    It could be so much worse – at least I’m not currently starting it out with steak or pork chops…

Leave a Reply

