Oh my Glute.

The Boston Marathon is only a week away. I can only think about one thing: My piriformis muscle.

Such a silly little muscle, but right now it’s cause for major marathon concern. A twinge in my glute began about a week ago. It felt a little tender after the 1/2 marathon. No worries, right? The twinge became more acute and a tenderness was replaced by real pain. I backed off for a few days, felt better and went for a 10 mile run. No good. The following day it was worse than ever and my lunch run didn’t even last a mile.

To say I flipped out would be an understatement. I completely lost it – I called my parents. I cried in the bathroom at work. After all these months of running and now this. Following the advice of my dad, I called a massage therapist, explained my situation and had a deep tissue massage that afternoon. It helped immensely, but not unlike an addict, I immediately returned to my old ways and took a 20 mile run on Sunday. What a silly thing to do! What was that about a three week taper?

Currently I’m treating my piriformis like a freakin’ princess. Nothing is too good for her. She’s getting hot baths, cold compresses, contrast showers, tiger balm lotion rub downs, Braggs apple cider vinegar and gentle stretching. I imagine that if my piriformis were a person, she would be a high-maintenance pop star and I’d be her personal assistant: My piriformis is Mariah Carey – do not mess with her.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in Boston Marathon, life, portland, running. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oh my Glute.

  1. smchurchi says:

    Go back to the massage therapist – PRONTO! I’ve had piraformis syndrome and it’s no picnic. But if you’re very, very careful you’ll run Boston just fine next Monday. From one addict to another, DO NOT RUN UNTIL BOSTON!!! Your legs will be fresh and your piraformis rested. (Okay, so I know you’re probably laughing right now knowing that I’m the biggest running junky walking.)

    TAKE IT EASY!! Keep your eye on the prize (Boston) and REST!

    Thinking of you,
    Sandy

  2. heatherdaniel says:

    Thanks for the positive thoughts and great advice. I’ve got another massage scheduled before I leave. It really helps.

    Stay strong. Keep recovering.

  3. smithwales says:

    Great to read your blog here! Boy did you turn around at the right time Sunday in Forest Park. I died at mile 13 and managed to somehow make it through to mile 20. Everything from my lower back down was in pain and not doing what I was telling it to do! So I’m staying positive and thinking, wow, maybe that’s my bonk for the year!haha Anyway, just wanted to say it was a pleasure having you pull me along for a few miles. Good luck in Boston, I’ll be waiting for another great post when you return.
    Matt

  4. stvmllr says:

    I’m picturing you riding a Segway down to the office instead of walking…

  5. Rachel says:

    Dude! Oh no. Take it easy, lady. Here’s wishing your piriformis happy thoughts. Miss you!

  6. heatherdaniel says:

    Thanks! Miss you too.

  7. chad says:

    Oh, how i long for the day i could triumph over that little muscle.I am just Tapering my runs for a 1/2 marathon. What should arise?? Maria. Oh how I loath her tantrums. So at first sign she isnt having a good day, I pull out the pampering kit and try to fend off her untimely hissy fit.

Leave a Reply

