Packing for The Boston Marathon

Funny how packing for the race doesn’t include many of the normal vacation items

Included on my packing list:

1. Running clothes for all weather possibilities. The forecast says 50 and slightly cloudy, but I’m not taking any chances . I have my first choice outfit, my back-up socks, my back-up sports bra, my back-up, back-up socks in case something happens to the first two between now and Monday.

2. Food Stuffs: GU, HammerGel, Shot Bloks, rice porridge, brown rice snaps, almonds, raisins, pumpkin seeds. I’ll rely on my parents to pass me a few GU packs during the race.

3. My lucky necklace and earrings

4. The Boston Marathon Jacket – after hanging in my closet for a month, I’ll get to wear it in public.

5. The Chi of Running – good for plane reading.

6. Body Glide

7. And of course, the gigantic “GO HEATHER! YOU CAN DO IT!” sign, spray-painted on an old bedsheet that participated in my first two marathons

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in Boston Marathon, clothes, food, life, marathon, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Packing for The Boston Marathon

  1. smchurchi says:

    Oooh! I’m getting more and more excited for you! You’ll have a great race; I can feel it in my bones.

    BTW, are you wearing a hydration belt?

    BEST OF LUCK!! GO HEATHER!!
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

