Boston Marathon: Getting closer

I arrived in Boston last night after a long cross-country flight. The vibe here in Boston is incredible. The city is buzzing in anticipation. The streets are teeming with runners – already proudly sporting their Boston jackets and buying tons of swag at the marathon expo.

This morning I took a 5-mile run around the Harvard campus both to shake off the jetlag and evaluate my piriformis. The piriformis took a few miles to warm-up but she felt fine in the end of the run. The jetlag was a different story. I hope to get a good night’s sleep and feel better in the morning.

I’m trying not to set expectations for my time. I’ll do my best on Monday. Maybe Monday’s best will be fantastic – or maybe it won’t. What’s important that I enjoy every step of the race. Right? It’s hard to keep that voice in my head that repeats “3:35! Go for 3:35!” quiet.

Oddly I’ve been getting hiccups all day. I told my friend that I’m suffering from IMS: Impending Marathon Syndrom. Symtoms include fits of nervousness, odd eating habits, mild insomnia and hiccups.

I’m both totally excited for Monday and somewhat slightly scared to death.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in Boston Marathon, life, marathon, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boston Marathon: Getting closer

  1. Rachel says:

    Yay! I’ll be thinking about you! Most important thing is that you enjoy it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

