Post-Race Doldrums

Someone close to me suggested, before heading off to Boston, that I would likely suffer from Post-Marathon Depression. At the time, I didn’t give it much thought.

Now that the race is over, my bags unpacked and my finisher’s medal resting in the bread basket along with the other bib numbers and medals, I’m at a loss. What to do with myself? The pleasure of not worrying about training is not all that pleasurable. The new found time after work is not all that exciting and I find that I’m missing every little detail about my marathon prep – the good and the bad.

I decided I needed to take a mandatory two week running vacation.  When was the last time I did that? I’m hating it, but I know that I’ll be a healthier runner if I rest up and let Princess Piriformis get some well-deserved R&R.

That doesn’t mean I’m not working out. I’m currently using the only machine worse than the treadmill. Of course I’m talking about the elliptical machine. It takes all the joy out of running and replaces it with a weird, frustrating, gliding motion.

This leads me to an obvious conclusion: I need a bike. And I need to start running again. ASAP

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in Boston Marathon, life, portland, running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post-Race Doldrums

  1. Christian says:

    Hello there. I just fell upon your blog randomly, for the record. I love how motivated you are in your running. It’s safe to call it inspiring. If only I could get through the process of working through an injury. Sigh.

    Hey, is that banner at the top of your blog a pair of Wave Rider 6? Is it possible that you could share the original photo?

  2. Bob Allen says:

    That resonates with me. Though a 10K is certainly not a marathon, I experienced the same blues after the race was over. I thought I would enjoy not being tied to a training schedule — and I have — but a training schedule and a race provide real focus.

Leave a Reply

