Heather’s Hot Tips

This week’s theme on the Runner’s Lounge “Take it and Run Thursdays” is heat. How to run in it. How to survive hot training days and tips to make summer running bearable.

This is kind of funny because in Portland it looks and feels like February. Don’t believe me. Take a look for yourself.

Rainy Day in May

The pre-work run this morning was drizzly, much like it has been for several weeks. Summer is still a fanciful dream here in the Northwest. I would embrace the problems that come with running in the heat. I would rejoice with having to worry if it was too hot. When and if I do have to run in the heat here are the things I’ll remember.

1. Run early in the day. Duh! It’s hard to do, but makes running in the summer so much more enjoyable. There’s less chance of skipping out or having life get in the way. I try to focus on the early morning sunrise and take pleasure in being up and doing something good for my body while many people are still sleeping.

2. Lube Up! Chaffing seems to be a bigger issue in the heat. I found Body Gliding contact points like my hips, armpits, feet and inner thighs is key. Quick aside: Thighs, I know you’re reading this and I love you for being strong and carrying me over long distances, but I’d really be so much happier if you’d slim down just a little tiny bit. I have just two words for you, Thighs. Swimsuit Season.

3. Don’t use deodorant. I know. This sounds extreme. This is a little tip I picked up while working in West Africa. Seriously. You’re going to run, it’s going to be ridiculously hot, you’re going to sweat and stink and be nasty… so why bother? Enjoy being stinky and then shower up afterwards. Deodorant is like a putting a small band-aid on a broken dam of stinkiness. A little stick of Secret isn’t going to be able to hold back the stink! Sweat, and be nasty with pride! Just don’t forget to shower.

4. Dr. Bronner’s Magic 18 -in-1 Peppermint Pure Castile Soap. I love this stuff. When you’re done being stinky use this peppermint soap in the shower. As a co-worker told me once it’s tingly, refreashing and “like little angels beating you with pillows.”

5. Cool down and eat frozen grapes or this amazing frozen dessert.

6. Be hardcore! Running in the heat gets a lot more street credit and makes for better war stories. “I ran a 10K this weekend and it was 92 degrees outside!” sounds so gnarly. I like to tap into my inner Rocky Balboa and repeat “Eye of the Tiger” for extra inspiration

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in marathon, portland, recipes, running, Take it and Run Thursday, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Heather’s Hot Tips

  1. quicksilverrunner says:

    Hi Heather,

    Ewwww! I kinda like women runners smelling like roses even if the sweating will take that away sooner or later.

    I have to try that magic soap thing. Never tried rewarding myself with goodies after the run.

    I’m a warm weather runner myself. The only way to get used to the heat is to run in the heat. Either that or make sure you check the weather forecast before each race (>75 forget about it).

    Happy running!

    Quicksilver

  2. heatherdaniel says:

    Women runners always smell like roses…just sometimes slightly sweaty smelling roses!

  3. FYI y’all.. “like little angels beating you with pillows” is my line.

    I’m available for stand-up on Friday and Saturday evenings. You can learn more about my demented mind at http://www.seemikeblog.org

  4. merrymishaps says:

    We’re actually already getting some street cred from passers-by and it’s not even that hot yet! (It may have been in the upper 70s, but humid, at 6:30pm the other day).

    Though, the non-runners do look at us like we’re crazy once the temps really start rising!

  5. merrymishaps says:

    (Oops — Meant to add said passer-by made a comment that she was hoping it’d cool down for us …)

  6. tom says:

    Thanks for the tips, Heather.

    Love your line, “Deodorant is like a putting a small band-aid on a broken dam of stinkiness.”

    I agree about the frozen grapes–they’re like candy.

    Hope your thighs got the message and shape up.

    Tom

  7. Heather, I’m impressed you have so many hot running tips even though summer hasn’t even for you yet. Gosh, you’re so well prepared. No wonder you’re so hardcore and such a great runner.

    Now pass the grapes!

  8. Amy says:

    I must try that soap! In fact , try it on my kids too!

  9. felicepd says:

    I’m right there with you on the Eye of the Tiger! Hills, heat, speed workouts — they all seem to bring out the ’80s anthems for me!

  10. heatherdaniel says:

    Mike: Thanks for advertising on my blog

    MerryM: I think it’s great that others are commenting on your run in the heat and humidity.

    Tom: Deodorant is most important after the run…not so much during it!

    Lamintaor: Thanks for the compliment. I think you win the hardcore runner award around these parts 🙂

    Amy: The soap is great for everything. Kids included

    Felice: Cool. I was wondering if I was the only one that used that mantra.

Leave a Reply

