Gimme Cavewoman Food – TIART

I have an odd habit of sneaking looks into other people’s fridges, cupboards and into their shopping carts at the grocery store. Yes, I know it’s strange, but I’m curious to see what other people eat on a daily basis. Call it food voyeurism. So, as part of TIART’s “Gimme Food” feature I’ve decided to put my personal food stuffs on display.

You’ll notice a suspicious lack of the normal running staples. No bagels, no pasta, no dairy and no soy. I do occasionally eat teff or rice porridge before or after long runs. However, I mostly (about 90% of the time) follow a pretty clean food regime. No dairy, no grains, no processed sugars. I eat a lot of vegetables, protein, berries, nuts and some fruit. It’s also known as the popular Paleo Diet or Caveman Diet. I stress that it’s not so much a diet as a general way of eating. I wasn’t looking to lose a lot of weight when I started my little food experiment about 4 months ago. It took awhile to get used to, but I’ve seen great improvements in my health (no more acne – or at least not as much – improved energy, fewer stomach aches, better mood) and running (faster times, better stamina, quicker recovery)

1. Foods currently inhabiting my fridge

Cavegirl Fridge. Yumm!

Cavegirl Fridge. Yumm!

First Floor: Arm & Hammer Baking Soda to keep things fresh (not technically a food), a tower of canned seafoods in the back – salmon, shrimp and clams – organic apple sauce, dijon mustard, jar of chicken fat/juice (ewww, just throw it out!) olives, bay leaves, leftover roasted chicken, hazelnut butter

Second Floor: 2 boxes of eggs, salad greens, swiss chard, celery and carrots

The door: Almond butter (stored upside down so it doesn’t separate), more mustard, fish oil capsules, mayonnaise, curry paste, my mom’s delicious peach chutney for special occasions, and two bottles of apple cider vinegar

And the cupboards:

Cupboard Highlights: Massive quantities of tea, coffee, 1-cup drip coffee maker (the red cone), coconut milk, coconut oil, walnut oil, pumpkin seeds, another can of salmon and a tupperware full of random spices.

Favorite Vices: Coffee and red wine

Favorite Splurge Foods: gelato, macaroons

Favorite Post Run Meal: Kippers served over two over-medium eggs (sounds gross, but it’s soooo good!)

Foods I Love but Don’t Eat: Lattés, quesadillas, grilled cheese sandwiches, Diet Coke

Foods I Just love: Steak, macadamia nuts, bananas smothered in almond butter (yum!), eggs served about any wa

In fact, I just polished off a banana smothered in almond butter as I finished this post! HA.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in food, paleo diet, running, Take it and Run Thursday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gimme Cavewoman Food – TIART

  1. Ed says:

    Wow, your fridge and pantry are, like, clean and stuff. You rock.

  2. SLB says:

    I did the Paleo for 3-4 months last year and it worked really well, of course Christmas came along ands I was hosed! But I still stick to it fairly closely although grains etc sneak in as well as a splash of milk in my coffee.

  3. tfh says:

    Ooh, I’m a food voyeur, too. Thanks for sharing your experience with this type of diet. The variety of foods you eat despite the restrictions is inspiring!

  4. smchurchi says:

    Hi Heather,

    Great post! I’m struggling to eat more protein, well, I’m struggling to just eat better. Thank you for your inspirational post. I think I’ll give this paleo thing a try. Might as well!

    Love your writing…
    Sandy

  5. MizFit says:

    huh.
    you and I could be FAB roomies as Id never eat your food 🙂

  6. Bill says:

    Hiya Heather, I see where you are with your diet.

    I reckon you are on the right track.

    Have you tried extra virgin olive oil as THE oil in your diet. Excellent for skin.

    http://nutra-smart.net/olive.htm

    Cheers, (always full bodied red)

    Bill.

  7. Dr Barry L Marks says:

    Heather you are discovering the benefits of a lifestyle that suits you, rather than a fad diet, good job. “Diets” always fail, but finding what your body likes and makes you healthier is the way to go for the long run.

    Did you see the Atkins & Mediterranean post on WordPress 2 days ago? along same lines. http://healthybeyondreason.wordpress.com/2008/07/18/diet-debate-more-proof/

    Keep up the good work.

    P.S. My 9 yr old daughter and I both love kippers! I like Kippers and scrambled eggs. I’ll have to try with over mediums.

  8. flydi007 says:

    Wow-that’s awesome. I’m working on developing a healthier way of eating, but I am still finding it so hard to give up my latte! But, I realize I’m insulin resistant so for every carbohydrate I eat, I make sure I eat twice as much protein. Hopefully someday I’ll get myself to eat as clean as you! Way to go!

  9. edddy says:

    Thank you for posting your diet I took up on the same thing after reading your blog. I feel so good after cutting out every single wheat, wheat biproduct, corn product, soy, and dairy. I heard you can make glue from all those foods. It’s a pretty scary thought when you realize people are making paper masche in there guts.

Leave a Reply

