Meet My Garmin 405. His name is Phil

Meet Phil

Meet Phil

Name: Phil

Full Name: Phil Buddy

Origin: From the alternate and also acceptable name of Pheidippides, Philippides – Phil – was the professional runner who is believed to have carried the news of the Greek victory over the Persians in the Battle of Marathon in 490 BC. On arriving in Athens, Pheidippides shouted, “Rejoice, we conquer!” and then dropped dead of exhaustion. Thus, the legend of the marathon was born.

Could there be a better, more appropriate name for my watch? I don’t think so.

Qualities: He’s strapping, smart, good at math and sticks by my side. He understands my heart (with a specifically designed heart monitor) and is there for me in the early mornings. I bet I could even program him to take a chicken out of the oven and do my taxes. He’s THAT cool.

Sidenotes:

I find myself actually talking to him. “O.K., Phil, it’s time to go for a run…”

There’s definitely a learning curve associated with the watch and I’m not even close to understanding all the ways to program and change the settings. I’m fine with that. I love getting to know Phil better.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in life, nerd alert, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Meet My Garmin 405. His name is Phil

  1. Karen says:

    Phil is beautiful! Nevermind me, I’ll be over here, green with envy, for a few moments.

    I’ll be looking forward to your review of Phil and his performance(s), as I’m being tempted to get one of my own.

  2. the mom says:

    i so enjoy your blog… and i loved this piece of writing. (let me know when the chicken and the taxes work..)

  3. chefsy says:

    the watch now has a name! πŸ™‚

  4. Aileen says:

    I recently became friends with the green one, and have named her Joanie. She’s very complicated, but so far we are getting on well. Much luck to you and Phil!

  5. Ed says:

    I coveteth thy Phil.

  6. Roads says:

    It looks like a watch! More than can be said for my Garmin Forerunner 205. Stone age technology from 2004…

  7. Phil is such a cool name. I can see that this is the start of a beautiful relationship.

  8. Betsy says:

    My 205 is named Paula, after Paula Radcliffe, and I talk to her, too.

  9. Laura says:

    Just got my 405 too… I haven’t named it but it’s driving me nuts. Hopefully I’ll figure it out soon! Let me know if you have any tips πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

