The Haulin’ Aspen Trail Marathon

I’m sorry, but I have been keeping a secret. It’s neither deep nor dark, but something you aught to know

I’m running a marathon.

Soon.

It’s a a trail marathon.

It’s less than 2 weeks away.

I am quaking in my running shoes just thinking about it.

The race is in Eastern Oregon and boasts of a 2500-foot elevation climb in the first 13 miles. It also boasts of a 2500-foot elevation drop in the second 13 miles and a beautiful view if you can stop staring at the single track long enough to appreciate it. Past participants have raved about the terrific post-race party, numerous cowbells and a great race atmosphere. Obviously this will be nothing like The Boston Marathon. Instead I’ll be running in a group of less than 200 runners. Apparently everyone else runs the less grueling 1/2 marathon. If only I were so smart!

In an effort to battle my pre-pre race jitters, I’ve come up with a list of why this marathon will rock.

1. It’s my first trail marathon and as such I have no expectations. I am going out to have a great time.

2. My training has never been so good. Thanks to Team Red Lizard, Phil Buddy, some nice running folks/buddies and some great support, I’ve been healthy, happy and getting faster.

3. My mom and dad will be there to cheer me on. This is definitely a coup as my parents are pretty much the best cheerleaders in the entire galaxy. No joke. My mom’s nickname is “The Woo Woo Lady.”

4. A trail marathon will make a road marathon look like a piece of delicious chocolate cake.

5. Finally. after flirting with trail running all summer, this trail marathon will give me a chance to test my committment to the off-road endurance races. Who knows, maybe a 50K will be in my future.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in marathon, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Haulin’ Aspen Trail Marathon

  1. Shannon says:

    Umm… hello? Bend is, like CENTRAL Oregon, not Eastern Oregon. If you were really running in Eastern Oregon, then you would be in the same neck of the woods as me around that time. Stop getting my hopes up, Heather.

  2. kingofpots says:

    heather, you are very fortunate to experience a trail marathon at a younger age. at my age of 56, i just had my first experience running on the trails of malibu/santa monica mountains last saturday as practice run for the bulldog 50K trail run on 23 aug and it was a totally different experience. trail running is addictive and hope to have more years to do such races here in the western pacific states. good luck on your trail marathon…from the baldrunner

  3. musingsofabittergirl says:

    Good luck on your race – I bet you will enjoy it (assuming you’ve been doing some hills workouts so the climbing doesn’t seem too bad). I find that trail races are actually easier for me and much more pleasant than road races … the change of muscles that you use to do the uphills and downhills, and the uneven running surface of the trail keeps you from getting the kinds of cramps or repetitive stress problems you can get from road marathons where your legs are doing the exact same thing over and over and over for x miles. Have fun!

  4. Laura says:

    I still can’t believe people run trail marathons – I struggled with a trail 5 miler two weeks ago! Good luck 🙂

  5. Nat says:

    Holy crap! That’s insane. Good luck with that. A trail marathon… wow.

  6. chefsy says:

    Good luck Heather and Woah, TRAIL Marathon! Girl, You do need to hydrate yourself hardcore all throughout the days 🙂

    Woah Woah Woah! Have fun!

  7. SLB says:

    Have fun, trail running is simply the best running!

  8. Leslie says:

    It’s easy-peasy, honey! It’s just a run in the woods. That’s how I think of it now. You recover 10times more quickly after a trail marathon, so hey- you can do another next weekend it you want!! Have fun, take a camera and enjoy.

  9. Peter Hatton says:

    Heather, yes it looks as though you are running the marathon, I may see you after the finish, as I am running the 1/2 marathon. Good luck and run well!
    Peter

Leave a Reply

