Pain in the ____

Breathe in.

Sharp, stabbing pain in my side.

Breathe out.

Sharp, stabbing pain in my side.

Breathe in.

Still there…

Attempt stupidly to “run through the pain.” and then capitulate after 5 miles.

Still there..

24 hours later.

Still there…

Jab fist under ribcage, lift up to temporarily relieve sharp, stabbing pain – attempt to remain calm. While one fist is buried under the ribcage, use other hand to dial massage therapist and doctor’s office for appointments.

You can tell me all you want that missing a day or three of running is no big deal. You can tell me until you’re blue in the face that the best thing I can do is rest. Go ahead, tell me not to freak out. Tell me it’s probably nothing. I’ll nod. I will agree with you. But I can’t do it. I am FREAKING out – and not in a small way.

The pain can only be described as a severe side stitch that refuses to budge. This was supposed to be hard training week, but I can’t seem to do so much as laugh without feeling like someone is jabbing a skewer between my ribs. I’d love to have some smart, witty comments to make about this pain. I’d like to write something inspiring about how minor physical setbacks make me appreciate my mobility and fitness. But no, I’m sorry. I can do little more than freak out on my blog, see the massage therapist (she is amazing!) and worry out loud to my co-workers.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in health, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pain in the ____

  1. Ben says:

    Heather, Sounds brutal! I hope that it turns out to be not as bad as all that. But be sure to get it checked out, and let us know what the Dr. thinks.

  2. Carrie says:

    Gosh, do I know the feeling. Hope your pain is something run-of-the-mill that can be dealt with quickly.

  3. Laura says:

    Awww, it sucks SO MUCH to not be able to run when you want to! I hope it’s easing up by now.

  4. cindy says:

    It sounds like what I went though with the broken ribs back in march. Did you fall or do anything to hurt your ribcage? It is very very painful, but it heals pretty quickly – i was able to run again after a few weeks. You can read all about it on my blog. they can’t detect broken or cracked ribs often on xrays. Good luck and have a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

