Can’t Run. Must Call Mom.

What do you do if you can’t run and your well-crafted marathon training program flies out the window?

You call your mom.

And complain. A lot.

At least that’s my strategy.

Yesterday my plan backfired. I called my mom, hoping to be soothed, expecting to be comforted, needing to be consoled. Instead I got a big ol’ MOTHER LECTURE. You know what I’m talking about, right? It was the type of talking to where you have to hold the phone away from your ear. The kind where you wince. The kind of mom-lecture that turns your ears red because you know she has a point.

She even used my middle name.

My mom is a powerful force.

I called my mom because I was distraught. The mysterious side-stitch/muscle cramp in my oblique is back and is painful. I’ve taken all the right steps. I went to the massage therapist. I’ve seen two doctors, I’m waiting not-so-patiently for results on my blood tests. The doctors suspect an electrolyte imbalance or something similar. In any case, the main problem is that I’ve got this pain in my side and it hurts. A lot. I can’t run. I’m frustrated that I can’t run and distraught because I don’t know when it will be better.

On the phone my mom listened patiently for the first minute and then she asked, “But have you been running?”

“No, not since Monday.”

“So you ran on Monday?”

“It wasn’t hurting on Monday.”

“How long did you run on Monday? Be honest.” (My mom knows me far too well.)

“Ummm….20 miles.” I said quietly.

I’ll spare you the rest of the conversation. My ears turned red. I held the phone away from my ear. I protested weakly. I defended myself half-heartedly. But there’s not much you can do against a full-blown mother lecture. And she did have a point.

So I will continue to wait patiently and pray to the running gods that my side stitch/muscle spasm/pulled oblique (whatever it may be) resolves itself quickly. Until then I will keep calling my mom.

Take Away Message: I may be 26, but I’m never too old to be lectured by my mom.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in life, running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Can’t Run. Must Call Mom.

  1. Ed says:

    You see, that’s why I don’t talk to non-runners about running if I can help it. “You’ll wreck your knees.” “You’re heart will explode.” “You’ll get hit by a bus.” They never appreciate my assertion that I have to run.

  2. flydi007 says:

    I’m the same way-despite being 28 I always call my mom when i need some comfort. And often I get the comfort-but I also get the lecture from time to time! But, in her defense I usually do need to be set straight from time-to-time, even though I don’t like to admit it. I hope that your injury is diagnosed and resolved soon, but don’t forget to take it easy on yourself. The sooner you heal, the sooner you’ll be back out running consistently again!

  3. Laura says:

    Really sorry you’re hurt, but… HA! I love that your mom knew that when you went running on Monday it wasn’t just an easy few miles šŸ™‚

    For my part, I am “easing back into running” by doing stints of 6 miles and 12 miles on the elliptical on two consecutive days. Next up is trying to PR in a 5K (running outside, for real) on Sunday.

  4. the mom says:

    … and yes Heather you did get the lecture…you know the one about YOU being the only one that can take care of yourself. Yes, the one about listening to your body… Yes, the one about not being stupid and pushing limits when your body is giving you a definite signal that it needs a rest. A rest does not mean you go out for a 20 mile run. … The one about GOING to a Doctor does not mean you have taken care of yourself.
    So here is the lecture…in print. In loving concern… a reminder that those that love you are sometimes the only ones that have the right to remind you…. that your good sense somehow hitch hiked to China when you weren’t looking.
    A reminder that you are precious and loved and more important than your training schedule.

    and yes I am proud of you, but as long as I live and breathe…. I will be your number one fan.. tenacious in my care and concern for you. (and remember all this and more is only a phone call away!) LOL both the old version and the new version.

  5. This Devil's Workday says:

    20 MILES!!!??? I’m clearly, VERY new to this game.

  6. Nat says:

    You know you’re in trouble when they use your middle name.
    “Natalie Anne….”

    Then I’m screwed.

    But yeah, she’s right you need to rest. I had weird side pain, turned out is a piriformis issue (deep in the glut..) and also I have a fibroid. So rest. Not worth blowing it now, if it’s something that can be easily taken care of…

  7. Marc says:

    My mom lectures usually begin without a middle name since she usually calls me by both first and middle in casual conversation, but I definitely understand the feeling as soon as you hear the difference.
    Good luck and get better soon! I am having to hold off on training for a 10K trail run at the end of the month due to a dislocated toe, a non-running-related injury. šŸ˜¦ It is so irksome that there is running to be done, but not by me!

  8. smchurchi says:

    Hi Heather,

    I’ve been out of the blogging loop for a bit, so I wasn’t aware of your aches and pains. I’m so sorry.

    Being a chronic overtrainer, I can tell you that the best thing you can do for your body right now is rest. That doesn’t mean lie on the couch with a bag of chips and watch reruns of Sex and the City. I’m talking cross-training – biking, swimming, yoga, water running. Sounds like your body is pleading with you to let it have a break of long, hard miles. Listen to it before it forces you to rest.

    Last year I allowed (yes, that’s right, allowed) my aches and pains to become full-blown injuries and I had to sacrifice a marathon for which I had trained very, very hard. I don’t want to see that happen to you.

    If you want to chat, drop me a note. I’ll send positive energy your way!
    Sandy

  9. Hi Heather, sorry i’m been out of the blogger loop for a while…but catching up now.

    Sorry to hear about your latest injury. How’s that coming along for you? I get the same lecture from my mom too…so I try not to get too injured too frequently so she can’t give me the “told you so” shpeel too much.

    Anyway, hope you’re R.I.C.E.-ing well. Take care!

  10. Betsy says:

    That is so hilariously true about hearing your full name when you are in trouble. The scary thing is that now that I’m a mom, I find myself doing the same thing.

  11. chefsy says:

    I’m really sorry but its good that you still was able to run 20 miles in comparison to those who couldn’t even do 1 km from such of such other reasons.

    Your mom is classic but atleast hey, she supports you! šŸ™‚ although with a little sermon here and there but she does, ya?

    Unlike my mom she keeps me away from running by keeping me imprisoned at home with chores and having insomnia attacks makes me — not get to run for even a km.

    I’m struggling back on getting into a 5km.

    Btw, were you able to watch DEAN on his 48 hours run on a treadmill? that was.. extraordinary! I salute!

  12. Dingo says:

    Sorry to hear about your injury. I hope you get better soon. I know how frustrating it must be.

    I just discovered your blog today and what perfect timing! I’m training for my first marathon in October and have been sidelined for about a week with an injury. It has me freaked out that my schedule is off kilter. My Mom happened to be visiting this weekend and I complained (and even cried) expecting some sympathy. Nope, she told me that my injury was healed, to suck it up, get back to training, etc. I was expecting sympathy but got a kick in the running shorts. It was exactly what I needed. Do you think you could give your Mom my phone number so she can give me a lecture when I start to complain again? With two Moms on my back, I think I will definitely be prepared for October.

    Now I’m going to go through your archives and read more about your running experiences!

Leave a Reply

