Back on track, or almost

It’s funny how little time it took to feel like I had lost my ability to run long and hard. It wasn’t that my injury sidelined me for months. It wasn’t like I had to start from scratch. It wasn’t like I had forgotten how to train. But it’s just taking sooooooooooo (SOOOOOOOO) (SOOOOOOOO) long to get back on track.

For the first time since August I feel like I had a truly productive training week – despite having to take Monday and Tuesday off because of a headcold. Let’s take a look:

Monday: Felt a little sickish. Maybe I should just sleep it off…

Tuesday: A severe headcold kept me from work and from running. I haven’t been sick for two years and the head cold hit my like a freight train. I slept for 14 hours and woke up Wednesday morning feeling human again. By the Wednesday afternoon I was back, almost, to my regular self. I don’t get sick often, but when I do it’s short and intense.

Wednesday: 6 miles at a 8:07/mile pace

Thursday: 5 miles in the morning before work, 5 miles with a co-worker at lunch. I’m still not sure how I convinced him to join me – but he did!

Friday: 8 trail miles before work

Saturday: 18-mile trail run. It was hard, intensely hilly, muddy and exhausting. I was so tired afterward I had to sit down in the shower. Pitiful, I know.

Sunday: 6-mile recovery run … but a 7:50/mile pace!

Weekly total: 40 miles….

It’s not 66.5mpw yet … but I’m getting back on track…slowly but surely.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in marathon, portland, running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back on track, or almost

  1. Elle says:

    Hi Heather,

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while, and I just wanted to say that you are very inspiring to me, and I’m glad you’re healthy again.

    Elle

  2. smchurchi says:

    I’m so glad to read that you’re feeling better again. What a strong runner you are, Heather! You’ll be back to 100% before you know it…just listen to your body like you’ve been doing.

    It’s great to “hear” your voice again – I’ve missed you!
    Sandy

  3. Peter Hatton says:

    Heather:

    It was great to see you at the Gresham race(s) today. You seem to be “getting back” into it after being out for a few. (that would explain why I didn’t see your name in the results for the Xterra in Bend the last weekend in Sept.) Good race for the 1/2 today. that was not an easy course. Looking forward to some beautiful trail runs in the future! Check your schedule and say hi to mum and dad! Peter from Bend!

Leave a Reply

