I saw the sign.

It’s Thursday (already!?) and the folks at the Runner’s Lounge asked us (as part of their weekly TIART project), Which sign would you most like to see during a race?

I assume what they’re really asking is, “what sign would you most like to see during a race besides the finish line banner? ” I love running, but when I’m killing myself for 26.2 miles nothing is as sweet as seeing the finish line. But BESIDES that.. there is another sign I hold near and dear to my marathoning heart. It’s a sign that has appeared at all four of my marathons. It’s big. It’s impossible to miss. And the sign is always flanked by my parents – the best cheerleaders in the universe

Back in April of 2007 a team of marathon engineers created a sign using an old bedsheet and spraypaint. Witness the birth of the sign…

Marathon Sign Creative Team

Marathon Sign Creative Team

Marathon Sign in Action

So, of all the signs I could see during a race, this one is the best!

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in marathon, running, Take it and Run Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I saw the sign.

  1. Betsy says:

    That is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

