Feeling my inner billy goat.

I’ve tried to embrace hills. I’ve pretended to love them. I’ve talked to them and created mantras to whisper under my breath as I tip-toe my way up. All of this inner hill loving will be tested on Saturday when I run the Lithia Loop Trail Marathon. Let’s take a gander at the course description:

With a course offering of approximately 2 miles pavement, 3.5 miles single track trail, 21 miles dirt road and 4,700 feet of elevation gain, this is sure to be an adventure for runners of all fitness levels

And let’s take a peek at the elevation chart:

Holy Elevation Climb! I think I'm going to have a heart attack

Holy Elevation Climb! I think I'm going to have a heart attack

Now to me, this doesn’t look like a hill. It looks more like a modest-sized mountain. I’m trying my best not to panic as I look at this drawing because nothing I panic about tonight will change how I’ve trained. The race will be what it will be (right!??). It’s very difficult to remain Zen about all of this, but I’m doing my best.

If you’re run a marathon before you know that excited/nervous/happy/dread feeling you feel as the race draws near. That feeling is ripe and full and sitting at the pit of my stomach as I type. But I’m not going to let it conquer me. Instead I’m going imagine myself tiptoeing my way up the 4,700 elevation climb and I’m going to tap my inner billy goat. I’m going to get my mantra ready and get ready to say, “Perky! Run Perky Perky Perky!

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in life, marathon, portland, running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeling my inner billy goat.

  1. MJ says:

    You’re going to be happy at the 8 mile mark that’s for sure!

    Good luck!

  2. Betsy says:

    Sweet Yoda, woman! That course looks tough. You are totally prepared, though, and I know you’re going to rock it. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

Leave a Reply

