TIART: running and transistions

Today’s Take it and Run Thursday topic asks us to talk about running and transitions.

Just a year ago (was it really a year ago?) I started a new job, in a new city and new apartment. It was tough and at times very lonely. Running steadied me when it seemed like everything else was unstable. Running gave me something to do when it seemed like I could do nothing.

So here we are a year later. We just elected a new president. The weather has gone all wonky and rainy in Portland, and daylight savings has my internal clock decidedly messed up. Transitions! They aren’t easy! Sometimes it’s easy to let running slip when the weather is bad, or the new President is making history, or some other big real-life thing like a blizzard or work gets in the way of your daily run (so annoying!). Here are my tricks to make sure that these changes and unexpected curveballs don’t ruin all your good running habits.

1. Put it in perspective: I missed track practice for the second week in a row. Gah! I hate when that happens and I was in tears both time. Stressing out over a missed practice because something unexpected comes up isn’t good or healthy. Take a deep breath. You can always run tomorrow. (I need to follow my own advice on this one).

2. Don’t let bad weather be an excuse. I tend to lose my courage to put in a tempo run when it’s cold and dark and rainy –  I try to focus on how great the hot shower will feel when I’m done.

3. Wear a hat. And gloves. You’d be surprised just how much heat you can generate while you’re running, and a pair of gloves and a hat can keep you warm in most wet and chilly conditions – at least here in the Northwest.

5. Run early. Even if it’s cold and nasty, get your run done early so it’s off your plate and you don’t have to fret about it.

6. Do what you can do. Don’t beat yourself up over the rest. Let’s say you had a 10 mile run planned, but life and a date and work get in the way and all you can manage is a 3 miles around the neighborhood. Take it. Run it. Enjoy it.

7. Be safe. With the dark months upon us, please use reflective vests, hats or carry a safety lights.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in portland, running, Take it and Run Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TIART: running and transistions

  1. Excellent post.
    Sooo true!
    (re. 3.) I wore a buff on my previous run and that made a lot of difference

    Also, not thinking and just getting out for the run as early as you can works like really well.

  2. Nat says:

    Good luck this weekend. 🙂

    Great profile over at the Runners’ Lounge.

Leave a Reply

