I Heart Green Runners

Oh Thursday, you can only mean one thing: It’s time for Runners Lounge “Take it and Run” Series. This week they ask: Are you a green runner? How you make your running habit green? (i.e. environmentally friendly.)

hmmmmm… (thinks for a minute or three)

I live in Portland, arguably the most environmentally conscious city on the west coast. Being green isn’t really an option. At my office we have five recycling containers in the communal kitchen, most of my friends have compost piles, and biking/taking the bus is normal for many. If you happen to dump a recyclable bottle in the wrong receptacle, well, then, clearly you’re from out of town.

The question is what do I do personally to make my running green?

1. I am carbon conscious. I rarely use my car to go running. With so many great places to train around town, I find I don’t need to drive somewhere to run. In fact I’d rather not. I save fossil fuels and reduce carbon emissions by only using my car to travel to races or for special weekend trail running adventures.

2. When on trail runs, I don’t throw my used GU packets on the ground. I stuff them in my shirt pocket and carry it out. It usually makes my pockets sticky and usually I forget they’re in there, but no big deal. I’d rather be a sticky runner than a litterbug.

3. Although not strictly associated with running, my diet is pretty green. I don’t eat a lot of packaged or processed foods. I try to buy from local farmers markets when I can. I buy from bulk bins and I try not to waste the things I buy.

4. I race in my hometown as much as possible. I’ve traveled to a few out-of-town races, but those were big marathons. For the most part I try to race locally, and carpool whenever possible.

5. I walk just about everywhere: I walk to track practice. I walk to the gym. I walk to work and then run during lunch. I walk to the grocery store and I walk to meet other runners.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in marathon, paleo diet, portland, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Heart Green Runners

  1. SeeDivaRun says:

    Hi Heather! You would have dozens of comments by now, but there was an error in your link on the Runner’s Lounge. I think that being green is pretty much mandatory all over the northwest, but I agree that Portland really is the ultimate green city. When you are surrounded by so much natural beauty, I think you want to do everything you can to preserve it.

    Thank you for mentioning GU in your post. It was something I wanted to work in, but the post was getting really long. I have cut back on my use of GU in favor of fruit and other less processed products, but there are times when “only GU will do”. It bothers me to see the ground littered with the empty packs. It isn’t just messy, it can be harmful to wildlife.

    Another big thank you for mentioning the importance of walking wherever you can. I’m lucky to live in a small town where I can do most of my errands on foot.

  2. nicole says:

    You sound green from where I’m reading!

Leave a Reply

