Capitol Peak Mega Fat Ass 14 Mile Trail Race

How I spent my weekend.

How I spent my weekend.

I “raced” the Capitol Peak Mega Fat Ass 14 Mile Trail Race on Saturday because:

1. I really enjoyed saying “I’m running the Capitol Peak Mega Fat Ass 14-Miler.” Clearly I need more excuses to work Mega Fat Ass into my conversations.

2. Entry fee was $5. That’s less than a going to see a movie!

3. Because there was a potluck at the finish line.

4. It looked like it was going to be a muddy mess of a good time.

5. Waking up at 4 AM to get to the race on time only added to the hard core quality of the race.

Race Conclusions:

This was the polar opposite of most “organized” races. There were no bib numbers, t-shirts, timing chips or aid stations. It basically amounted to 80 trail runners deciding  to meet at the same place and the same time to run approximately the same course.  It was fantastic.

The course consisted of sloppy single-track, muddy bits, snow sections, some rolling hills, a sustained uphill climb and some fallen trees to be jumped over.  I went out WAY too fast and didn’t find a comfortable pace until about the fifth mile. Despite feeling like my legs were made of lead for some of the course, I managed to complete the 14-mile course in 2:06:

First Place Female for the 14 mile loop.

Not too shabby!

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in race report, running, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Capitol Peak Mega Fat Ass 14 Mile Trail Race

  1. A race run for all the good reasons! Especially reason #2.

    Great job on the run!

  2. Edward says:

    That’s pretty amazing. Great run.

    That’s been my experience with trail races. Very casual. “OK, guys. Run that way for 5 or 6 miles, turn around, and come back. Whenever y’all are ready, get goin’. See ya’ when you get back.”

  3. Ana-Maria says:

    Trail races are the BEST. I met great people during these races. For me, they are less about competing, and more about finishing and getting to know other runners. Of, course, winning is great, too. Congrats!
    Be sure to thank your legs!
    Ana-Maria

  4. I love races like that. There aren’t too many left… I did a duathlon with my son (6) just after Christmas. It was in Kona and very similar to the race you describe. Totally mellow, pot luck post-race food. Awesome.

    Congrats!

  5. aron says:

    CONGRATS!!!!! you are so awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

