Cold, Tired and Track Praticed

Tonight’s track practice felt awfully cold and awfully difficult.

It shouldn’t have been any more or less difficult than last week’s drill, but for some reason I was just dragging. No, I wasn’t dragging. I was huffing and puffing. The whole time I couldn’t wait to be done, and then as soon as it was finished I was like, “Well, now, that wasn’t sooo bad, was it?”

I do that.

Every week.

I get it in such a dither about speed work. I dread it. I try to find excuses not to go. But then I DO go. I don’t hate it and I’m filled with a sense of achievement after the workout. I know that speed work is making me a better runner. If that’s the case, then  why do I have such a mental block when it comes to being motivated about speed work. There’s no reason.  I get to see my running buddies. I get to chat during the warmup and cool down. I get to pick other runners’ brains. I get to run with some truly talented runners.  You’d think it’d be all over that like almond butter on a banana.  But that’s just not so.

Add this to my list of 2009 Resolutions:

Get psyched about speed work.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in portland, running, weather and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cold, Tired and Track Praticed

  1. I fight the same thing with some types of workouts.

    Maybe it’s the time of day and how it fits in with your daily rhythms and eating patterns? I have a hard time getting excited for anything in the 4:30pm – 7:30pm zone… I hate the idea of going but then it turns out to be fine and good.

    If changing the workout time is impossible you might try changing your routine with eating/sleeping? It helped me.

    Cheers,

  2. Is it the speedwork that you are dreading? Or the obligation to be at particular place at a particular time to do a particular thing?

    Maybe it just takes a really long time for speedwork to become fun? 😉

  3. Amanda says:

    Speedwork is really mentally tough for me. I think I just know it’s going to push me out of my comfort zone and it’s hard for me to get all psyched about that

  4. aron says:

    i am the SAME way, i just dread it but i always feel so great when its done.

  5. Mark Sisson says:

    As a former runner, I can attest that speedwork is the most important thing for, well, speedier running. My suggestions: always be well-rested before your speed sessions and get pumped mentally – as if this session is a race. It’s the most important workout of your regimen.

    BTW, your time on the CPMFA trail run was awesome. You clearly do have some speed. Maybe you were still tired from Saturday? Cheers.

  6. Ana-Maria says:

    How about using some of the mental tricks that you used before your fastest marathon? Or some new mantra? Or a goal to work towards, so that the speed drills have a more concrete purpose?
    Good luck! Ana-Maria

  7. Marvin says:

    It means you are dreading a part of the track workout, and you need to figure out what that part is.

    For me, it is running at very high intensity due to racing with my fellow runners. I dread being at max HR and running until my lungs hurt. Over working my anaerobic system is not something I look forward to, and it doesn’t make me any faster.

    If the track workouts are too intense to be fun, try slowing down your pace. Use a guide to gauge your pace, such as the McMillan running calculator. http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/mcmillanrunningcalculator.htm. Find your ideal pace and stick to it, and get the benefits of speed workouts while having fun.

  8. Ruben says:

    Found your blog after you dropped in at Fit Right today. 3:15 is smoking fast, congrats. I hope to see you around soon.

Leave a Reply

