Food, Running, Food.

Non-obligatory, non-running note: This note is inspired by Ed, who always includes an ORN (obligatory running note) on his blog. As I don’t have a problem finding things to say about running, I thought I’d throw in a non-running note for a change.

NONRN: One of Portland’s culinary oddities is its lunch carts. This town is sprinkled with parking lots that have been overtaken by no-longer mobile trailers and food huts that offer large quantities of ethnic foods at cheap prices. It’s fascinating. There are even entire blogs dedicated to keeping the Portland population up to speed on the latest and greatest food carts. If I were cooler I’d make it my mission to try them all. Maybe I could even run to them, eat up  and then attempt to stagger home where I could blog about the perils of sprinting on a belly full of Pho.

Enough of that. Let’s talk running.  Usually I go to track practice on Tuesday nights, but sometimes work gets the best of my schedule. I’m not Paula Radcliffe or sponsored by Nike to exist yet, but I am paid to go to work. There are priorities in life, and running can’t always win. I usually make up for it by holding my own track practice later in the week. (which admittedly is never very fun)

Last night was just such a night. I ran five sleepy miles before work and hunkered down for a fast five-miler after work. The great thing about  fast five-milers is that they don’t take very much time. They are also an excellent remedy to any lingering work stress. On the other hand  my fast five-milers can be kind of difficult, at least for me, especially when I’m feeling stressed, and they don’t tend to be as good a workout out as track, but at least the miles get done.

And the miles always get done.

Which leads me to my next running related thought. Recently, I was out with some non-running girlfriends  for drinks and I was talking about how I ran to another  friend’s house for dinner the night before. I was getting to the good part of the story one when one of them interrupted me.

“You what…?” she said.

“I ran over for dinner.” I repeated.

“You ran… across town?” said the other.

“It’s not that far – just 4 or 5 miles and it wasn’t raining or anything…” I replied. I tried to steer back to the point of the story which was that French’s Onions are delicious, crunchy and a highly under-appreciated processed food,  but they would not be deterred.

“Are you freakin’ kidding me?” said the first friend. “But didn’t you just say you already ran that morning..?”

I had. And at that point I realized that I had crossed some kind of line wherein running has become more commonplace than getting in car.

I kind of love that.

Also, I think it may be time I invest in a road bike.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in life, portland, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Food, Running, Food.

  1. Susan says:

    Philly also has lunch carts…They’re all over the place! I’m always impressed by the amount of food they can provide out of a cart…

  2. Love your running story. I totally have those same moments when you unconsciously throw some statement about your running and your friends stop you at mid-sentence and won’t let you continue until you explain yourself. It’s so awesome! Speaking of which, I need to find a friend who lives exactly 20 miles away so I can hop over for dinner after a long run…hmmm…

  3. Ana-Maria says:

    Great story! Isn’t it awesome how you feel like a superwoman when telling nonrunning friends about your running? Five miles seem so looooooooooooooooooooooong to them:) Ana-Maria

  4. Edward says:

    Great story. Though I am not where you are in terms of mileage, I’ve reached a point where I casually drop things about my running that befuddle non-runners. Not bragging or anything. Just sayin’. And I agree, that “Wait, what?” thing you get when you say you ran 12 miles and then cleaned your house…. priceless. The amazing things we do become mundane and commonplace to us, but they are still amazing.

    And thanks for the shout-out.

  5. Irish Cream says:

    Love it! Ha, I seriously think it is so funny when stuff like this comes up with non-running friends . . . the looks on their faces alone are priceless! I think the fact that we all interact with a whole community of crazy running bloggers tends to make our endeavours seem far more normal and commonplace than they actually are. Anyway, I think you’re awesome for running to dinner! I’m thinking I might have to try it!

  6. RuntoFinish says:

    I ran to my parents house during training about 13 miels and it completely freaked them out, i won’t be doing it again

  7. heatherdaniel says:

    Irish Cream: I admit that I was eating dinner with another runner so my choice to run to his house didn’t seem strange at all.

  8. You should definitely get a road bike…. then you’ll be two thirds of the way to being an awesome triathlete. (How’s your swimming?)

  9. Marvin says:

    🙂 I get the same reaction with my non-triathlete friends. When I talk about a triathlon there response is usually, “you swim, bike, then run…one after the other?” Then it occurs to me that they have no idea what I’m talking about and probably think I’m nuts so I quickly change the subject…

    You should definitely get a road bike, Portland always ranks among the top cities for cycling. I’m jealous!

  10. Great job on baffling your friends ;-). Still, I can imagine the surprise to some extent. Before I started to run, I worked with a guy who ran 10 K to work in the morning and 10 K home in the evening – thank goodness for office-showers. I never understood the guy, but now I am kind of jealous that I don’t live approx 10 K from the office (a 45 K run to and from work is a bit too much…)

Leave a Reply

