Favorite Foods: A list

I recently was talking with another runner about favorite post-run foods, evening snacks and favorite quick meals. That, of course, got me thinking about my own top favorite foods (there are too many) and which ones are a bit out of the ordinary  (there are also too many!). So here is my quick list of running-friendly foods that I love to consume.

1. Sardines – but I can’t eat them at work for the obvious and odoriferous reasons

2. Pureed butternut squash – topped with toasted pumpkin seeds and drizzled with maple syrup makes a great breakfast

3. Dandelion Tea – kind  of cleans the system and tastes like mud, but  in a good way.

4. Coconut Bliss ice cream. It’s like regular ice cream, just made out of coconut milk instead. It’s about my favorite post-track workout treat.

5. Turkey and cabbage soup. I make it about once every two weeks in my slow cooker. It always tastes better on the second day.

6. Fennel slices and turkey slices  for breakfast. It’s light and crunchy and high in protein.

7. Dark chocolate. Lots of it. Especially the Dagoba chai/lavendar combo! It’s delicious.

8. Rice crackers

9. Rainbow chard and bacon

10. Coffee (obviously)

11. A big, yummy steak after a long run.

13. French fries on special occassions

14. Eggs for dinner. Eggs for breakfast. Eggs for lunch. I can’t think of many ways I don’t like eggs.

15. And when I really need a fix – a banana slathered in almond butter or sunflower seed butter.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Favorite Foods: A list

  1. Sweet! That’s a whole list of stuff that sounds great – and some that I have not tried before.

  2. Irish Cream says:

    I’m really going to have to try your butternut squash breakfast one of these days . . . it sounds SO good!

  3. Ana-Maria says:

    You have very interesting and unusual (though so healthy) meals. I love butternut squash, too, but I only put salt and raisins in – still so yummy! I also love the sardines – they are totally underrated:) I will look for coconut icecream – nice to have such a reward after a track workour; it would certainly make me speedier…run for coconut icecream…run!
    Ana-Maria

  4. Aileen says:

    Fennel and Turkey sounds soooooo good right now!!! I love your food choices. Whenever I read them, they always make me want to try new things! Except for the hairy fish, of course 😉

  5. pinkcowgirl says:

    Wow, those are some interesting choices!!! I’m not familar with a few of them, like that coconut ice cream…but if I ever found that in a store here, I’d be all over it!!! I love ice cream and I love coconut!!! I don’t see how you could ever go wrong with that! 🙂

  6. I have got to find that coconut ice cream. I love to make whole wheat coconut pancakes with shredded coconut and coconut milk served with maple syrup. Quite interesting ideas you have. I am going to have to try the fennel & turkey slices.

Leave a Reply

