Track Tuesdays and Peer Pressure

Sometimes track workouts rock. Sometimes they hurt. Sometimes they are just nasty. Yesterday’s workout looked like this on paper:

3 x 1000 – 4oo meter recoveries

4 X 500 – 100 meter floats

But it felt like hell.

Somewhere during the third 1000 meter repeat I wanted to barf all over the infield and quit. The urge was overwhelming. Quitting would have been so easy, too. So much easier than running one more time around the track. It felt like I was putting in 110% effort and moving nowhere.

Luckily the track was filled with fellow Red Lizard teammates and our coach.  Everytime I considered stopping, which was about 14 times a second, I had to think about what that would feel like to quit in front of my friends and fellow runners. I just couldn’t do that. So, I huffed and puffed and struggled my way through the track practice.

And you know what? 24 hours later, with that track workout firmly in my rearview mirror, I’m really glad that I did see it through.

That’s what I call peer pressure!

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in Eugene marathon, marathon, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Track Tuesdays and Peer Pressure

  1. Aileen says:

    Ummmm…now my half mile repeats don’t sound so darn hard! Way to get it done!

  2. Ana-Maria says:

    Peer pressure rocks when it comes to track repeats. I do the repeats alone, but ckeck in with my running partners about our workouts, so I HAVE to do them no matter what! Ana-Maria

  3. aron says:

    nice job!!!!! i need some running partners there for my track repeats 🙂

  4. Irish Cream says:

    Awesome job! I agree with Aron that I am in serious need of some running partners to peer pressure me into sticking with my speed intervals!

Leave a Reply

