This Week in Running:

So many post-worthy things to discuss.  Let’s summarize.

This week:

1. I ran 74.5 miles, took 17 showers, ate 3 candy bars and 9 bananas.

2. I ate sardines for lunch on Thursday and then went out and ran a very fast 11-mile tempo run at sub marathon pace after work. Coincidence? Hardly. Sardines just might be my power food. The tempo run was smoking… not that I can tell you my marathon pace, because. . .

3. Apparently, I’m a crazy, whacked-out superstitious runner. Or so says my friends. My first reaction was, “What? Me! Superstitious? No way…” But then specific examples were cited: the lucky earrings, the arm warmers, the dancing to Ice Cube’s “You Can Do It,” before every long run, the eating of pureed butternut squash for breakfast,  and the refusal to say my marathon goal time out loud for fear that I will hex myself and the race. Superstitious… hardly!

4. I re-discovered  Nuun tablets. I don’t use them during my runs, but I drink a glass of Nuun afterward and it seems like my night cramps have eased. Thanks, Nuun!

5.  And tonight I almost started crying while watcing  Nova’s “Marathon Challenge.” I couldn’t help it. Have YOU watched it? The program takes 13 phsyically inactive, self-admitted couch potatoes and gets them running. They all looked so tired and proud when they finished their marathon – it was wonderful and it reminded me why I like doing marathons. It was exactly what I needed to see as I begin to taper and fret about my marathon goals.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in Eugene marathon, marathon, portland, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to This Week in Running:

  1. Ana-Maria says:

    Congrats on the high mileage and speedy runs. I need to get me some sardines:)
    I loved the Nova movie, and cried as well. The only issue I had with it is that, in my opinion, they pushed the runner a bit too far, hence the high nr of injuries. Ana-Maria

  2. Great mileage! Thanks for the tip…I’m gonna get me a can of sardines.

  3. aron says:

    WOW 74.5 miles – you are AMAZING 🙂

    now get those legs ready for race day!!! 13 days to goooo 🙂

  4. Irish Cream says:

    74.5 miles? Most people don’t accomplish that in a month, let alone a week! Great job!

    And I LOVED the Nova movie as well . . . I might have to watch it again to give myself a little extra motivation when the c-word (“can’t”) starts to creep its way into my vocab during training 🙂

  5. Erik says:

    I have watched that show!! That is a great movie. So motivational. I couldn’t stop watching.

    Great job on the 74.5!!

    E

  6. Susan says:

    74.5 is a lot of miles! Congrats! I, however, especially like the shower count.

    I haven’t seen the Marathon Challenge, although I’ll probably check it out now!

  7. 74.5 miles a week speaks volumes about discipline in your training.

    Based on your recent races and training runs, my hunch is sub 3 or very very close to 3 hr marathon. I am pretty sure that you will do it with determination and consistent training.

    Best wishes,

  8. Hart says:

    nuun is awesome.

  9. Wow, great work with the mileage, Heather! I just had my own weekly mileage PR last week with 62.5 and I thought THAT was a lot of work. 🙂

    The Nova film is great… I recall getting choked up, too. What about Spirit of the Marathon? Have you seen it? I think that one’s even better.

  10. JimR says:

    Heather, you’re moving along so very nicely. I thought I’d point out another Heather I’ve met, Indiana’s Heather May.

    http://www.bostontrials2008.com/index.cfm?pk=bio&bioID=77

    I knew Heather from the Coolrunning boards when I first signed to them in 8 years ago. She was one of us, a new runner, trying to figure out what she could and couldn’t do, all while (not like us at all!) working towards a PhD. What she had was an aptitude for running and a hunger for hard work. Her goal became achieving a ‘B’ standard to get into the ’04 Olympic Trials marathon. She got there, qualifying with a 2:46:41 (ran the trials in 2:46:37), and ran them again in ’08.

Leave a Reply

