Bad Pre-Marathon Prep: Getting hit by a car.

picture-3

One of the things I didn’t plan on doing this week was getting hit by a car.

I guess that goes to show you can train for months and months for the Eugene Marathon. With less than two weeks to the big race,  you might decide to ride your bike downtown. But on that day someone driving a car might decide to turn right in front of you. That car could hit you. You and your bike could become violently and suddenly very intimate with a chunk of Mustang. It could happen all so quickly. You might not even realize that there was even a car there before you collide. There would be a dull thud. You might wonder if that was you or bike that made the sound. Then you could fly, for the briefest instant, before you skid across the asphalt and come to stop sprawled on the road.

You could do that.

But I wouldn’t recommend it.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in Eugene marathon, marathon, portland, running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Bad Pre-Marathon Prep: Getting hit by a car.

  1. Ana-Maria says:

    OMG, Heather, are you OK? Let us know!!!! Thinking about you! Ana-Maria

  2. Susan says:

    Yikes!! I hope you’re okay! Keep us posted…I’ll be thinking about you!

  3. That sucks….I hope you are doing okay.

    Please post an update letting us all know.

  4. Matt says:

    My greatest fears while riding or running:

    1) pack of vicious dogs running free and towards me

    2) poorly operated cars

    3) the old lady up the street flagging me down during a tempo run to converse about the fine weather we’ve been having lately…

    Is it bad to pretend she isn’t there and to look the other way? Not that I would do that…

    Send an update soon…

  5. Roisin says:

    Oh no…please be okay. I’m saying prayers for you.

  6. Hope you’re okay! How bad are the injuries? Let us know. Keeping you in my thoughts.

  7. Scott says:

    OMFG. Hope you’re OK.

  8. jawsome says:

    Sending you positive healing thoughts!!!

  9. sara says:

    oh no! that really sucks 😦 but i’m glad it wasn’t worse (i work in an ICU and see a lot of bad stuff) … hope you recover quickly … sending you lots of healing vibes!

  10. Whoa! Sounds like you’re ok…. based on the humor.

    Take care of yourself!

  11. Lisa says:

    Wow… that sucks. I am assuming you are major injury-free (I hope), but the bumps and bruises must be horrible. I hope bounce back quickly!

  12. Holy cr.p! I do hope you are OK.

  13. the mom says:

    I already know the details…but just needed to post that you are running the greatest marathon ever… and it is more than 26.2 miles and you are doing an awesome job. Life is moving forward… getting past pain and disappointment…. relishing the good times…. being encouraged and encouraging others in the race.
    Whatever your time is … and none of us really know what that will be however much we plan and practive … you are so precious… so fantastic… and i love you soooooooooooo much.
    I humbly give thanks that last Thursday was not worse.
    Now taper …reflect … heal …and listen to your Butt.
    Love from your very own Mom

  14. Layla says:

    Oh no!!! I hope you’re OK! The fact that you blogged it is encouraging, but take it easy either way.
    Also, your mom’s comment was great.

  15. Jones says:

    Hi Heather, hope you’re ok. Same thing happened to me, got into an accident 2 weeks before my race… the feeling sucks.. (No broken bones just bruises on the thighs)

    hope you recover soon!

    Jones
    Philippines

  16. Edward says:

    Yikes! You blogged about it, so you must be conscious. Unless you’ve got WordPress’s awesome brain implant widget. That’d be cool.

    Srsly, hope you’re OK.

  17. carpeviam says:

    Hope you are well. We’re all thinking about you and wish you the best!

  18. Oh no! That really sucks. I hate oblivious drivers. Hope you get better soon!

  19. Marc says:

    I saw the next post before this one. I’m glad you are doing better! Good luck in the marathon!

  20. Hope you’re doing OK. Send an update when you can!

  21. RunForLife says:

    !!! I hope everything is ok….off to read your next post and keeping my fingers crossed. :S

  22. Levi says:

    Hey I met you at CIM with Radell and Marvin. I had a similar experience about 2 weeks before the Boston Marathon. I got hit by a Ford, also, and F250 while riding my bike in the Marina. He turned into me and wrecked my bike. I managed to get away with little else than a scratch and a little aching. I ended up running Boston in 3:15 and then a half marathon in La Jolla the fallowing week in 1:35. I think you should be good. A runner is a runner and something like this wont get in our way. good luck.

Leave a Reply

