Unintended Setback

I am SO frustrated that all I could do tonight was eat the rest of the gluten-free blueberry pie (I swear, that last piece looked so lonely in my fridge), drink a glass of wine and watch Confessions of a Shopaholic. (as a sidenote, that movie is terrible!)

It seems I’ve seriously tweaked my foot.  Was it last week’s 200 miles of cyclint? (I blame my fancy Italian Sidi cycling shoes) Or was Tuesday’s run that I did in an old pair of shoes that caused the tweak? Or maybe a combo of the two? It’s hard to tell. In any case, the arch of my foot is tender. It feels better than it did on Tuesday night and I’m hopeful that it is just a minor twinge. . . but still it is annoying, scary and frustrating. Nothing unhinges me quite like not being able to run. Frankly I’m not sure how long I can take this no-running business!

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Unintended Setback

  1. Greg says:

    Don’t stress too hard, Heather…we’ve all been there.=) You’ll come back stronger than ever!

  2. Ana-Maria says:

    It sounds like something minor. You’ll be out running in no times, even stronger due to the rest! I do get how you feel, though, I am the same… Ana-Maria

  3. I hope that the foot heals quickly. The blueberry pie sounds pretty good.

  4. Marvin says:

    I don’t think the cycling shoe is the culprit, so I’m blaming the old running shoe. I hope your foot feels better soon.

  5. Kevin says:

    I’ve tweeked my calf/soloneus muscle…. however, the team I’m training with is running the…. drumroll….. Portland marathon in October. So, I better get well soon. Is that a hard course? I heard there is a big hill around 16 with the bridge and all.

  6. Patrick says:

    Have you ever noticed that when you are injured you feel like you will never run again and when you are healthy you feel like you will never be injured again?

    I clear up 90% of my running issues using self-administered trigger point therapy. It is free and effective and since you can do it yourself it is easy to stay on top of things before they get out of control. Get the book (http://bit.ly/TseqP) and (optionally) a tool (http://bit.ly/HiQ3r) and you should be set.

    For the other 10%, I go see Dr. Justin Whitaker downtown and have him work some of his ART magic (http://bit.ly/Ucvm3). If it is good enough for Kara Goucher and the Jamaican team, it is good enough for me; and it is.

  7. Christy says:

    Oh wow, just found your blog and like it. I’m a non-gluten-ite, too, and I have a running blog. Ima add yours to my roll; consider doing the same for mine? Looking forward to more. Thanks!

  8. Laura says:

    This is an older post, so I hope your foot is feeling better by now!

Leave a Reply

