Editor’s Note: A list.

1. My foot is currently suffering from a bad case of metatarsalgia*

*metatarsalgia being a stupidly long word for sore foot disease. If you want to get technical about it, metatarsalgia is “a common overuse injury described as pain in the forefoot that is associated with increased stress over the metatarsal head region.” So basically, I have a wonky foot and I can’t run until it decides it’s not wonky anymore.

2. While metatarsalgia is quite painful, it does not affect other extremities like hands and fingers. So while I definitely CANNOT run, there is no physical handicap that is preventing me from typing. Loyal readers (Hi, Mom!) who know this have been quick to point out that there’s no excuse for my strange lack of blogging.

3. I had hoped that the foot (no longer referred to as MY foot because I want nothing to do with an extremity that exhibits such foolish behavior) would resolve itself rather quickly.I couldn’t run and somehow I was having a very difficult time blogging.  This blog is about running. If I wasn’t running I figured what was there to say? Loyal readers (again, Hi Mom!) have said that’s a silly reason to sidestep blogging. In fact she said, other readers might be interested in how a dedicated runner might approach a somewhat serious setback such as this. (Mom, you are so smart).

So that brings us up to speed. I am still unable to run. The prognosis  is that the foot, and its silly behavior, should resolve itself given enough time and RICE. Until then, no running. Obviously. (= so frustrating)

However, I have been given medical clearance to ride my bike until my thundering heart feels like it will break through my ribcage and my legs quiver in a pool of thick lactic acid. And that is just what I’m doing.

So while the foot repairs itself, please enjoy the (hopefully) very brief change in themes. Instead of running, I’ll be riding. Instead of waxing poetic about my latest trail run, I’ll review my latest road ride (of which there are many). We’ll see how it goes.

Happy Running/Riding/Writing!

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in cycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Editor’s Note: A list.

  1. the Mom says:

    Heather,
    Glad to see your post…but not glad about your foot. I have missed your musings on all things… the written word is a layer of you that i have deeply missed this past month. Keep your keyboard humming even as your foot heals. At least this loyal fan will welcome alternate topics. Woo woo to you
    Love from
    THE MOM

  2. Todd says:

    Heather,

    Great to see your back blogging and are able to use the bike, but sorry to hear about your injury. Your mom is right — us much slower and weaker runners gain valuable insight from situations such as yours. I always seem to injure myself but I eventually get healthy and continue to run. And I always wonder if the elite runners (such as yourself) ever have to deal with these frustations. So, rest assured that this injury is temporary — and please take satisfaction in knowing that your helping others.

    LAST BUT NOT LEAST: About 7 years ago, I also had a foot injury in the same general area as yours. I dealt with this injury for 6 months with no improvement. My injury was termed sesamoiditis — inflammation of the sesamoid bones in the bottom of the foot just behind the big toe (‘ball of the foot’). Very painful — I felt like I was stepping on a nail with every step. But, here’s the good news — I was magically cured in just 1 week after I received 2 cortisone shots. The injury has never recurred, thankfully. I usually run about 30 mpw (nowhere near your levels, but still a decent amount), so this injury would most likely have returned if I wasn’t completely healed.

    Standard disclaimer time: Your injury may be much different and I’m no doctor, but those cortisone shots really did work wonders for me.

    Best of luck! I really dig your blog! Stay positive! You will get better soon….

  3. Ana-Maria says:

    Hey Heather,
    So glad to see you back. After your last post, I figured the injury lingered, and it was hard to write about it. But, all runners get injured here and there (yes, you, too) – I certainly had my share, 2 stress fractures over 1 year ago and not running was v tough, but at the same time allowed me to learn a lot about myself and my coping style. Biking is a great substitute for running, as it works the same muscles. With this rest, you may come back stronger than ever. You may also start doing duathlons or thriathlons. Heal soon! Ana-Maria

  4. amyjane12 says:

    hi heather! i’ve had that in my foot before– it sucks but it will heal– i promise. i’ve read you for awhile but never commented. anyway, i know how annoying injuries are… rest up and get better!

  5. Greg says:

    Hey Heather– missed you at Mckenzie and now I know why! A couple years ago I also had a foot problem at the base of my big toe.(seems like a common theme here =) I never got it diagnosed but I couldn’t run so I used the bike solution too. I seriously didn’t lose any fitness and when I was able to run again about a month later, I was pretty close to where I left off. So hammer that bike and you will come back strong and with a new appreciation for the gift of running! =)

  6. aron says:

    ugg this is not fun 😦 at least you have your bike to keep you busy while not running right? hope you heal up very fast and can be out there running again soon!!

  7. runshorts says:

    I once once sidelined by injury (stress fracture), but was given the green light to deep water run. Let me tell you, it is harder than it looks (especially without a bouyancy belt) and very humbling to be passed by the dog-paddling grey-haired ladies. If deep water running is an option I recommend at least once weekly workouts to keep up running specific fitness. Good luck with your riding and your recovery.

  8. Layla says:

    Aw, what a bummer about the foot! But I’m glad to see you blogging again, because that must mean that you’ve gotten past the worst of the mental agony. By all means keep biking, because endorphin withdrawal is No Fun!
    Hang in there.

  9. John T. says:

    Still a champ. Glad to have you back!

  10. Priyanka says:

    Hey there!

    I understand how this must feel. I’ve had to cut down my mileage draaastically to make sure my “weak” hip muscles are able to cope with running.

    Don’t worry, you’ll be running before you know it! Get well soon and hope to read you more.

    PS: Have been following your blog for sometime, but first time with a comment.

  11. Laura says:

    Ouch, get well soon!

  12. Mike G says:

    You should keep blogging for sure – riding is a great topic. I’ve been watching the Universal Sports coverage of the various european biking tours and it’s more interesting, if anything, than any track and field sports because there are more lead changes and exciting finishes.

Leave a Reply

