Shamrock 8K is tomorrow

It’s been over six months since I participated in my last race. The no-racing streak will end tomorrow when I take part in the Portland Shamrock 8k. Eight kilometers is no marathon, neither is it a trail race nor is the distance in the neighborhood of a 50k ultra-marathon. But it is a race and I’m a-gonna do it!

I’m more nervous about this 8K  than I need to be. I’ve said over and over to myself that the race is nothing more than a new starting point. It’ll be a baseline with which I inform my training and racing plans. It is hard though. I feel very stressed tonight. The race is hours away and I don’t feel fast enough. I don’t feel lean enough. I just don’t feel ready.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in running, The Great Comeback of 2010 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shamrock 8K is tomorrow

  1. Ana-Maria says:

    I think it is normal to feel like this before your first postinjury race. I say go with it. Nerves will subside once you start to run. Not racing in 6 months gets both the mind and body rusty. Sometime the body cames back quicker than the mind.

  2. David H. says:

    After having a lot of injuries in the past two years, I know what you’re saying. It’s tough, but there comes a point in which you just have to “start over” and not worry about the past anymore. The important thing is to have fun and do the best you can. Don’t beat yourself up too much before the event starts!

  3. Mike G says:

    You’ll come back stronger than you think. I also took some time off this winter – but it’s natural. The body bounces back recharged and stronger.

  4. Lisa says:

    How did you do? Was it better than you thought? I was worried all week that I hadn’t trained properly but I am very happy with my results! Congrats on running! 🙂

  5. MCM Mama says:

    Hope it went well for you!

  6. Tom says:

    Be a Buddhists for a day – or at least a race !! Accept what is !! Let go of the ego that is creating the: “I don’t feel fast enough. I don’t feel lean enough. I just don’t feel ready.” Embrace the present moment it is the ONLY place you can be …. it is what is is!! This is a rebirth, a new start, your joy began as a results of your awareness of the joy found in the running, the movement itself, the action itself … return to that place!!

    “So do not be concerned with the fruit of your action – just give attention to the action itself. The fruit will come of its own accord. This is a powerful spiritual practice. In the Bhagavad Gita, one of the most beautiful spiritual teachings in existence, nonattachment to the fruit of your action is called Karma Yoga. It is described as the path of “consecrated action”.
    When complusive striving away from the NOW ceases, the joy of Being flows into everything you do. The moment your attention turns to the NOW, you feel a presence, a stillness, a peace. You no longer depend on the future for fulfillment and satisfaction – you don’t look to it for salvation. Therefore, you are not attached to the result. Neither failure nor success has the power to change your inner state of Being. You have found your life underneath your life situation. ”

    from Eckhart Tolle’s “The Power of Now”

  7. Toni says:

    I”m new to running, getting better but from my point of view you’re doing great!!

Leave a Reply

