Monday Morning Fail

This morning I learned an important lesson.  Rather I relearned an important lesson. It appears when it comes to getting in a run in before work I can only deal with 2 obstacles and never more than three at a time. It can be rainy. It can be cold. I might even be out of coffee beans. I might not be sure that I have a clean shirt. Or I could be tired and it is most likely dark. I can deal with two of those.

Dark, no coffee beans… OK. Rainy and dark but with coffee… I can make that happen. But this morning I woke up and I heard the rain and wind and I remembered I was out of coffee beans and I was exhausted from Sunday’s run. It was the perfect combination. Instead of popping up for a pre-work run, I rolled over and snuggled down in to the covers. I couldn’t be saved. On the bright side, I did get up pretty early and I got to work early and so I left at reasonable time this evening which allowed me to get in a nice recovery run when I got home. I may have been slow but I got in 6 respectable miles before dinner and brownies.

The brownies (TJ gluten-free) were to celebrate yesterday’s 3-hour trail run. It wasn’t a pretty run but I did and I’m quite proud of my progress.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in running, The Great Comeback of 2010 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday Morning Fail

  1. smchurchi says:

    I chose to rollover after my alarm went off this morning, too. Last night’s 9:00 pm swim left me very sleepy. Oh well! Tonight will be a nice evening to run and swim. Glad to hear you got your run in, also!

Leave a Reply

