Brussel Sprout, why have I foresaken you?

Do you ever wake up and say to yourself, “What I really need today are brussel sprouts.”

No, I don’t either. I can think of about 27 other things I’d rather eat besides those green little things – like soy lattes and ginger snaps.

Just recently I was re-introduced to the brussel sprout and while it’s no ginger snap, it’s a powerful little veggie too often passed over in the in produce section of the grocery store

The secret with brussel sprouts is freshness and preparation. If you boil a brussel sprout for too long, or if you use the frozen variety you’re going to end up with a pile of bland, greenish nastiness and soon that ginger snap box is going to get raided and your attempt to eat healthfully will be over.

But if you show the little brussel sprout some love and attention. If you sauté it with other overlooked veggies like parsnips, leeks and pair it with garlic (what isn’t good with garlic) and carrots and some salt, you’ll get a delicious mix of veggie goodness that will make you feel so much better than a ginger snap ever did (as a side note, I the ginger snap should be re-named the Guilt Cookie, because no one can ever eat just one. If one ginger snap is consumed, so are 15 more…There is no self control with ginger snaps and while they aren’t as bad for you as crack, they might be just as addictive.)

And so, Brussel Sprout, I ask your forgiveness. You’ve been a good veggie that I’ve ignored for far too long. Are you available for dinner tonight?

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brussel Sprout, why have I foresaken you?

  1. smchurchi says:

    Great post! I LOVE brussel sprouts roasted with yams, garlic and olive oil. Give it a try; I’ll bet you, too, will be a fan!

    Great to hear you’re doing well.
    Sandy

  2. Shannon says:

    I lovelovelove brussel sprouts too, but this was too funny to not share. 🙂

    http://www.seriouseats.com/required_eating/2008/02/photo-of-the-day-alternate-name-for-brussels.html

Leave a comment