Muffin Recipe

Here is a flourless, sugarless, totally tasty alternative to traditional muffins. It’s a real winner and it tastes better than the picture. I’ll be the first to admit, the muffins can be kind of unsightly, but they are very very tasty.

Tasty Paleo Muffin

Super Pumpkin Blueberry Coconut Muffins

1 1/2 cups almond flour (available at Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods)
3/4 cup pureed pumpkin or squash (canned or frozen works fine) I’ve used both
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
3 large eggs
1/4 cup honey
1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (if you don’t have this, I sub 1 tsp cinnamon plus enough ground ginger, cloves, and nutmeg to equal 1/2 tsp)
2 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of salt
1/2 cup or 3/4 cup frozen or raw blueberries. I use the organic frozen variety
1/2 cup shredded,unsweetened coconut, plus some extra

Note: If you decide to use frozen squash the batter may turn out slightly runny. Just add some more almond flour if you feel like it needs it.

Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl. Save the blueberries til the end.
Pour into muffin cups.
Top each muffin with some extra coconut

Bake at 350F for 30-35 min. Simple as that.

About heatherdaniel

I'm a runner, writer, eater and traveler.
This entry was posted in autumn, breakfast, food, paleo diet, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Muffin Recipe

  1. smchurchi says:

    Yummy. I’m going to make these babies.

    BTW, from what recipe book do they come?

    Sandy

  2. Becky says:

    Thanks for the muffin recipe, not only did I love them, my kids did too! Yum!

  3. Pingback: Paleo Diet & Squash Blueberry Muffins

  4. kelley says:

    i made these today, but since the store said canned pumpkin was seasonal I mashed up 1 1/2 bananas instead. SO GOOD.

    I ran this recipe though an online calorie counter and it said only 136 per muffin. Sounds too good to be TRUE but they are great.

    thanks for the recipe.

Leave a comment